Additional Links

Overview over legal questions about AI:

A presentation by Prof. Dr. Hoeren (Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster; project partner of GOAL) was created as part of the GOAL project. The presentation shows the legal issues of AI with regard to copyright, advertising law, patent law, data protection law and liability law. Autonomous driving is also discussed in particular. The presentation is available via the following link:


Study on the use of AI in companies

On July 28, 2020, a study instructed by the EU Commission was published. It’s about the use of AI applications in European companies. The study is available via the following link:


Study on applicaton of GDPR:

The Science and Technology Options Assessment (STOA) Committee, a committee of the European Parliament, has published a study that deals with the application of the GDPR in AI applications.The study is available via the following link:


White Paper regarding Artificial Intelligence

On February 19, 2020, the EU Commission published a White Paper “on Artificial Intelligence – A European Concept for Excellence and Trust”. The White Paper is available via the following link:


Amendment of EPO guidelines on patent applications in the field of AI:

Because of an order of the President of the EPO, the guidelines for examining patent applications at the EPO were changed and came into force on November 1, 2019. In addition to many other innovations, there have been some changes, particularly in the area of checking the patentability of applications in regard to artificial intelligence and machine learning. The guidelines are available via the following link:


Liability and AI:

In November 2019, a report by a European Commission expert group on liability for AI and other emerging technologies was published. In the report is explained, for example, that although there are existing regulations in the member states, these must be adapted to the specifics of AI and other new technologies. The report is available via the following link:


EU ethical guidelines for AI:

On April 8, 2019, a high-level expert group on artificial intelligence set up by the European Commission presented ethical guidelines for trustworthy AI. The group of experts has determined several components with the help of which a “trustworthy” AI can be determined. The ethics guidelines and the report are available via the following link:


European Data Protection Board guidelines:

The European Data Protection Board (EDPB) has decided on several guidelines in order to deal with video surveillance (in particular by using AI) under the GDPR. A summary of the 17th meeting of the EDPB is available via the following link:


Legal analysis of the German Data Ethics Committee:

On October 23, 2019, the German Data Ethics Commission, which was set up by the federal government, published its report. The report contains extensive recommendations for dealing with algorithmic systems. Prof. Dr. Judith Simon (University of Hamburg; GOAL project partner) is a member of the data ethics committee. The Commission’s recommendations for action will shape the discourse on the regulation of AI in the near future.The DEK report is available via the following link:


Hambacher Declaration on Artificial Intelligence:

The Hambacher Declaration on Artificial Intelligence took place on April 3, 2019. This resolution of the 97th conference of the independent data protection supervisory authorities of the federal and state governments in the “Hambacher” Castle established seven data protection requirements for AI. The Hambacher Declaration on Artificial Intelligence is available via the following link:


Use of AI by the United Nations:

In the report “United Nations Activities on Artificial Intelligence (AI)” from 2019, UN organizations and UN bodies describe in which areas this AI is used. The comprehensive report is available via the following link:


Economic impact of AI:

Artificial intelligence will have a profound economic impact.An assessment of the economic impact of AI by the European Parliament’s scientific service from July 2019 can be found via the following link:


The Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy published a final paper in April 2019. It deals with the legal issues of AI in an economic context. The result paper is available via the following link:


Social impact of AI:

In June 2019, the OECD published a book on the social effects of AI. It deals, for example, with consequences of health, science, agriculture and financial services. The report is available via the following link:


Automated decision-making in the EU:

AlgorihmWatch published, in cooperation with the Bertelsmann Stiftung and with the help of Open Society Foundations, a report in January 2019. The report is about the situation in the EU with regard to automated decision-making. The experts have examined the situation in several EU countries and also depict the areas in which automated decisions are already being made. The report is available via the following link:


Challenges with autonomous AI systems:

Researchers at the Frauenhofer Institute dealt with the challenges of autonomous systems in an article published in August 2019. The article is available via the following link:


Constributions on Big Data – Abida:

The GOAL project is the follow-up project to ABIDA. In the ABIDA project, the topic of big data was comprehensively analyzed from a legal, economic and social perspective. Numerous publications of the project, for example, on voice assistants, diversity of opinion, “social” credit systems and mobile payments solutions can be found via the following link:

Weiterführende Links

 

Überblick über rechtliche Fragestellungen zu KI:

Eine Präsentation von Herrn Prof. Dr. Hoeren (Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster; Projektpartner von GOAL) wurde im Rahmen des GOAL-Projektes erstellt. Die Präsentation zeigt die rechtlichen Fragestellungen von KI im Hinblick auf das Urheberrecht, Werberecht, Patentrecht, Datenschutzrecht und Haftungsrecht auf. Dabei wird insbesondere auch auf das autonome Fahren eingegangen. Die Präsentation ist abrufbar unter:

 

White Paper zur künstlichen Intelligenz

Die EU-Kommission hat am 19.02.2020 ein White Paper „zur künstlichen Intelligenz – ein europäisches Konzept für Exzellenz und Vertrauen“ veröffentlicht.
Das White Paper ist abrufbar unter:https://ec.europa.eu/info/sites/info/files/commission-white-paper-artificial-intelligence-feb2020_en.pdf

 

Änderung der EPA-Richtlinien zu Patentanmeldungen im Bereich KI:

Mit Verfügung des Präsidenten des EPA wurden die Richtlinien zur Prüfung von Patentanmeldungen beim EPA geändert und sind am 1. November 2019 in Kraft getreten. Neben vielen weiteren Neuerungen haben sich insbesondere auch im Bereich der Prüfung der Patentierbarkeit von Anmeldungen mit Bezug zu künstlicher Intelligenz und maschinellem Lernen einige Änderungen ergeben. Die Richtlinien sind abrufbar unter:

 

Haftung bei KI:

Im November 2019 wurde der Bericht einer Expertengruppe der Europäischen Kommission zur Haftung bei KI und anderen aufkommenden Technologien veröffentlicht. In dem Bericht wird u. a. dargelegt, dass es zwar bestehende Regelungen in den Mitgliedsstaat gibt, diese aber an die Besonderheiten von KI und weiteren neuen Technologien angepasst werden müssen. Der Bericht ist abrufbar unter:

 

EU Ethik-Leitlinien für KI:

Am 8. April 2019 hat die von der Europäischen Kommission eingesetzte hochrangige Expertengruppe für künstliche Intelligenz Ethik-Leitlinien für eine vertrauenswürdige KI vorgestellt. Die Expertengruppe hat dabei mehrere Komponenten bestimmt an Hand derer sich eine „vertrauenswürdige“ KI bestimmen lässt. Die Ethik-Leitlinien und der Bericht ist abrufbar unter:

 

Leitlinien des Europäischen Datenschutzausschuss:

Der Europäische Datenschutzausschuss (EDSA) hat mehrere Leitlinien für den Umgang mit Videoüberwachung (insbesondere auch mittels KI) unter der DS-GVO beschlossen. Eine Zusammenfassung der 17. Sitzung der EDSA ist abrufbar unter:

 

Gutachten der Datenethikkommission:

Am 23. Oktober 2019 hat die Datenethikkommission, welche von der Bundesregierung eingesetzt worden ist, ihr Gutachten veröffentlicht. In dem Gutachten sind umfangreiche Empfehlungen zum Umgang mit algorithmischen Systemen. Frau Prof. Dr. Judith Simon (Universität Hamburg; Projektpartnerin von GOAL) ist Mitglied der Datenethikkommission. Die Handlungsempfehlungen der Kommission werden in der nächsten Zeit den Diskurs über die Regulierung von KI prägen. Der Bericht der DEK ist abrufbar unter:

 

Hambacher Erklärung zur Künstlichen Intelligenz:

Am 3. April 2019 erfolgte die Hambacher Erklärung zur Künstlichen Intelligenz. Diese Entschließung der 97. Konferenz der unabhängigen Datenschutzaufsichtsbehörden des Bundes und der Länder im Hambacher Schloss hat sieben datenschutzrechtliche Anforderungen an KI aufgestellt. Die Hambacher Erklärung zur Künstlichen Intelligenz ist abrufbar unter:

 

Verwendung von KI durch die Vereinten Nationen:

In dem Bericht „United Nations Activities on Artificial Intelligence (AI)“ von 2019 stellen UN-Organisationen und UN-Gremien dar in welchen Bereichen diese KI verwenden. Der umfassende Bericht ist abrufbar unter:

 

Wirtschaftliche Auswirkungen von KI:

Künstliche Intelligenz wird umfassende wirtschaftliche Auswirkungen haben.

Eine Einschätzung über die wirtschaftlichen Auswirkungen von KI durch den wissenschaftlichen Dienst des Europäischen Parlaments vom Juli 2019 findet sich unter:

Das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie hat im April 2019 ein Ergebnispapier herausgegeben. Dieses befasst sich mit den rechtlichen Fragestellungen von KI im wirtschaftlichen Kontext. Das Ergebnispapier ist abrufbar unter:

 

Gesellschaftliche Auswirkungen von KI:

Von der OECD ist im Juni 2019 ein Buch über die gesellschaftlichen Auswirkungen von KI veröffentlicht wurden. Es beschäftigt sich u. a. mit den Auswirkungen auf die Gebiete der Gesundheit, Wissenschaft, Agrarwirtschaft und Finanzdienstleistungen. Der Bericht ist abrufbar unter:

 

Automated Decision-Making in der EU:

AlgorihmWatch hat in Zusammenarbeit mit der Bertelsmann Stiftung und mit Hilfe von Open Society Foundations im Januar 2019 einen Bericht veröffentlicht über die Situation in der EU im Hinblick auf automatisierter Entscheidungsfindung. Die Experten haben die Situation in mehreren EU-Ländern untersucht und stellen dabei auch dar, in welchen Bereichen bereits automatisierte Entscheidungen getroffen werden. Der Bericht ist abrufbar unter:

 

Herausforderungen bei autonomen KI-Systemen:

Forscher des Frauenhofer Instituts haben sich in einem Beitrag von August 2019 mit den Herausforderungen bei autonomen Systemen beschäftigt. Der Beitrag ist abrufbar unter:

 

Beiträge zu Big Data – Abida:

Das GOAL-Projekt ist das Nachfolgeprojekt von ABIDA. Im ABIDA-Projekt wurde der Themenkomplex Big Data umfassend in rechtlicher, wirtschaftlicher und gesellschaftlicher Hinsicht analysiert. Zahlreiche Publikationen des Projektes u. a. zu Sprachassistenten, Meinungsvielfalt, „Social“ Credit-Systemen und Mobile Payments-Lösungen finden sich unter: